Soloist Ricky Van Shelton (with the Cumberland Boys) - Don't Overlook Salvation (1990)

Discussion in 'Southern Gospel' started by Philip Mayabb, Dec 2, 2017.

  1. Philip Mayabb

    Philip Mayabb Sharer


    Artist: Ricky Van Shelton (with the Cumberland Boys)
    Album: Don't Overlook Salvation
    Release Date: 1990
    Quality: 320 kbps mp3
    Style: Classic Southern Gospel
    By 1990, Ricky Van Shelton had solidified his place as one of country music's top male vocalists, and with good reason...his rich, baritone voice had won him scores of fans, and several awards to go along with them, but as many other country artists before (and since), Ricky Van Shelton had cut his musical teeth singing in church. So it was not a big surprise when he released the album Don't Overlook Salvation, which he has said was recorded as a gift to his mother. Just like most gospel albums recorded by country singers, the album contains songs that most people see in their church hymnal, but some other songs on the recording are pleasant surprises. Add the Cumberland Boys singing background vocals, and you have the makings of a really good album. The recording is almost like listening to someone singing in church, as there are no electric guitars or drums on any of the tracks, just the singers, a piano (and in a couple of cases an organ), an acoustic guitar, and a bass. The songs picked for the project work well for Shelton's voice, and he aces performances on classics such as I Saw A Man, Family Bible, Suppertime, and To My Mansion In The Sky. On the hymns, the performances are stellar on The Old Rugged Cross, I Shall Not Be Moved, and Mansion Over The Hilltop. One word of caution...keep a tissue handy for the final track on the album, it will tear your heart out. One final, interesting note - Ricky once said that he was still an alcoholic when he initially recorded this album, but not long after it's release, he returned to his roots, and accepted the Lord Jesus as his savior. Gives new meaning to the first lines of the title song's chorus..."don't overlook salvation, while living here in sin".

    1. Don't Overlook Salvation
    2. To My Mansion In The Sky
    3. Family Bible
    4. Holy (I Bowed On My Knees And Cried Holy)
    5. Suppertime
    6. I Shall Not Be Moved
    7. Mansion Over The Hilltop
    8. The Old Rugged Cross
    9. I Wouldn't Take Nothing For My Journey Now
    10. I Saw A Man
    11. Just As I Am / He Smiled As He Ran Out To Play

    Download Link
    Hidden Content:
    You must comment (scroll down to leave a comment) before you can see the hidden data contained here.
    gregg james likes this.
  2. Log in or sign up to view 15 replies.

Test ad

Share This Page